Duncan Laurence Wins Eurovision!


Duncan Laurence secured a fifth win for the Netherlands at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, the nation’s first win in 44 years. Duncan’s song ‘Arcade’ topped the leaderboard at the end of Saturday night’s Grand Final which was held in Tel Aviv in Israel. He scored a total of 498 points, just 26 points ahead of second place Mahmood for Italy.

Despite winning the overall Contest, ‘Arcade’ neither topped the jury vote or the televote. Norwegian trio KEiiNO topped the public televote with 291 points for ‘Spirit in the Sky’. This catapulted them from the bottom of the leaderboard to the Top Five. The jury vote meanwhile was won by North Macedonia’s Tamara Todevska for her song ‘Proud’.

Since the results of the Final, the EBU have come under intense scrutiny. The Belorussian jury had their votes nullified due to some of the jury members sharing their scores with the media. Instead, their votes were replaced with an aggregate score of jury votes, but the EBU awarded these back to front meaning the song that should have got 12 points from Belarus jury was awarded zero and ten countries that should have been awarded zero points received points 12-1. As a result the final result had to be overhauled and reissued. There was no change to the winner but it had an effect on some countries, most notably Norway who fell out of the top five, promoting Sweden’s John Lundvik to fifth. It also added salt to the wounds of the United Kingdom. They had already finished in last place, but their total points haul of 16 was diminished to just 11 when the error had been corrected.

The full finalised results after the corrected Belarussian votes are as follows:

  1. The Netherlands: Duncan Laurence- ‘Arcade’ (498 points)
  2. Italy: Mahmood- ‘Soldi’ (472 points)
  3. Russia: Sergey Lazarev- ‘Scream’ (370 points)
  4. Switzerland: Luca Hänni- ‘She Got Me’ (364 points)
  5. Sweden: John Lundvik- ‘Too Late for Love’ (334 points)
  6. Norway: KEiiNO- ‘Spirit in the Sky’ (331 points)
  7. North Macedonia: Tamara Todevska- ‘Proud’ (305 points)
  8. Azerbaijan: Chingiz- ‘Truth’ (302 points)
  9. Australia: Kate Miller-Heidke- ‘Zero Gravity’ (284 points)
  10. Iceland: Hatari- ‘Hatrið mun sigra’ (232 points)
  11. Czech Republic: Lake Malawi- ‘Friend of a Friend’ (157 points)
  12. Denmark: Leonora- ‘Love Is Forever’ (120 points)
  13. Cyprus: Tamta- ‘Replay’ (109 points)
  14. Malta: Michela- ‘Chameleon’ (107 points)
  15. Slovenia: Zala Kralj & Gašper Šantl- ‘Sebi’ (105 points)
  16. France: Bilal Hassani- ‘Roi’ (105 points)
  17. Albania: Jonida Maliqi- ‘Ktheju tokës’ (90 points)
  18. Serbia: Nevena Božović- ‘Kruna’ (89 points)
  19. San Marino: Serhat- ‘Say Na Na Na’ (77 points)
  20. Estonia: Victor Crone- ‘Storm’ (76 points)
  21. Greece: Katerine Duska- ‘Better Love’ (74 points)
  22. Spain: Miki- ‘La Venda’ (54 points)
  23. Israel: Kobi Marimi- ‘Home’ (35 points)
  24. Belarus: ZENA- ‘Like It’ (31 points)
  25. Germany: S!sters- ‘Sister’ (24 points)
  26. United Kingdom: Michael Rice- ‘Bigger than Us’ (11 points)

The Netherlands will therefore host the Song Contest in 2020, with a number of cities already expressing keen interest to hold the Eurovision.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.