10 Things About…Paenda!

10 Things About..., News

PÆNDA will represent Austria at Eurovision 2019. Check out 10 Things About…PÆNDA!

1. Gabriela Horn was born on 25 January 1988 in Deutschlandsberg, Styria in Austria and goes by the stage name Paenda (stylised PÆNDA).

2. She started singing in a choir in her home town at the age of six. At fourteen, she began songwriting and singing in various pop rock bands.

3. She took guitar and piano lessons and moved to Vienna at age 20 to study pop and jazz music at the Vienna Music Institute, where she graduated with honours in 2013.

4. She currently lives in Vienna, writing, composing and producing her music at her home studio. Pænda records and writes everything by herself. Her style is a mix of electronic, hip-hop, pop and techno, while she aims to avoid pretentiousness or cliché.

5. PÆNDA often uses her sister as a sounding board and remarks that, ‘…if she doesn’t sing or hum the hook line right after I played her a new song, I know that the melody isn’t powerful enough.’

6. She is known for her trademark blue hair.

7. PÆNDA’s debut album ‘Evolution I’ was released on 2 February 2018. From the album she released the tracks ‘Paper Thin’, ‘Good Girl’ and ‘Waves’.

8. Austrian broadcaster ORF were taken with PÆNDA’s innovative and experimental style and chose her as their artist for Eurovision 2019. It was later announced that she would sing the song ‘Limits’ at the Contest in Tel Aviv.

9. The song tells the story of how she pushed herself beyond all limits in her zeal and passion for music to the point of full exhaustion. PÆNDA explains,

‘Being aware of the moments where I needed a break was a process for me. It was a long and at times difficult road to learning my own limits. The song expresses my vulnerability. At the same time, it conveys the message that it is important to believe in yourself in order to find your own way. The highest premise: no limits’.

10 . The song also features on her new album ‘Evolution II’, which will be released on 26 April 2019. It will feature 10 self-penned and self-produced powerful songs. 

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.