Michela Pace Wins X-Factor and Will Represent Malta at Eurovision 2019!


The first season of X-Factor Malta have proven a ratings hit and tonight’s final crowned Michela Pace as the winner. They will go on to represent Malta at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv in May.

The night got off to a great start with the four remaining contestants; Michela Pace, Nicole Frendo, Petra and Owen Leuellen performing for your vote. The first round of songs saw Michela take on Bonnie Tyler’s ‘Total Eclipse of the Heart’, Nicole sing Rihanna’s ‘Russian Roulette’, Petra did a rendition of Grace’s ‘You Don’t Own Me’ while Owen did an original song.

The second round saw the act singing duets. Petra teamed up with her mentor Ray Mercieca to sing ‘Be My Guest’, Howard Keith Debono teamed up with his act Nicole Frendo to sing ‘Just Give Me a Reason’, Owen was joined by mentor Ira Losco to sing ‘Leave This Town’, while Petra sang ‘Perfect’ with Joseph Calleja.

Judges Howard Keith Debono, Ray Mercieca and Ira Losco had to watch on powerlessly, as the decision was now solely in the hands of the voting public. The act finishing in fourth place was announced as Petra.

Following Petra’s elimination, the three remaining acts sang again. This time Owen sang another original song, Nicole sang ‘Kemm hu Sabih’ and Michela sang ‘Inti Djamant’. The voting lines then paused again and the third place act was announced as Nicole Frendo.

Then it was time for the Super Sing Off. Owen sang yet another original composition which could potentially be his winner’s single (note not necessarily Eurovision song) while Michela sang her version of ‘Shallow’ by Lady Gaga.

While the votes were being counted, the UK X-Factor 2018 winner Dalton Harris took to the stage to perform his single ‘The Power of Love’. Then it was the big announcement. The winner of X-Factor Malta 2019 is… Michela Pace. This meant Owen Leuellen was the runner up.

X-Factor Malta fans fear not! The show has already been confirmed for a second season set to debut in October 2019. There is an open call for auditions.

The full list of the top 12 is below:

1. Michela Pace (Girls)

2. Owen Leuellen (Boys)

3. Nicole Frendo (Girls)

4. Petra (Overs)

5. Luke Chappell (Boys)

6. Norbert (Boys)

7. Ben Purplle (Overs)

8. Kelsey Bellante (Girls)

9. Xtreme (Groups)

10. 4th Line (Groups)

11. Franklin Calleja (Overs)

12. Kayati (Groups)

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.