Netta Wins Eurovision 2018!


Netta Barzilai has been crowned the winner of Eurovision 2018 for Israel. The singer wowed both juries and the public throughout Europe and Australia with her song ‘Toy’, a reaction to the recent #MeToo Movement. The song beat off stiff competition from Cyprus’ Eleni Foureira who finished in second with song ‘Fuego’, Austria’s Cezar Sampson was a surprise hit with the juries coming in third, former winner Alexander Rybak (Norway) and former runner up Waylon (The Netherlands). Netta totaled 529 points between the jury and televote. 

Netta succeeds Salvador Sobral as the Eurovision winner. The reigning Portuguese singer handed her the trophy after her win, something that was particularly poignant given Salvador’s critique of her song in the lead up to the Final.

Other controversies on the night included a huge disparity between jury scores and the points allocated by the public, a stage invader interrupting the UK’s performance of ‘Storm’, and one of Netta songwriters who could be seen to be pushing Austrian singer Cesar Sampson away from Netta as he tried to congratulate her on her win.

Here are the full results:

  1. Israel: Netta- ‘Toy’ (529 points)
  2. Cyprus: Eleni Foureira- ‘Fuego’ (436 points)
  3. Austria: Cesár Sampson- ‘Nobody but You’ (342 points)
  4. Germany: Michael Schulte- ‘You Let Me Walk Alone’ (340 points)
  5. Italy: Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro- ‘Non mi avete fatto niente’ (308 points)
  6. Czech Republic: Mikolas Josef- ‘Lie to Me’ (281 points)
  7. Sweden: Benjamin Ingrosso- ‘Dance You Off’ (274 points)
  8. Estonia Elina Nechayeva- ‘La forza’ (245 points)
  9. Denmark: Rasmussen- ‘Higher Ground’ (226 points)
  10. Moldova: DoReDoS- ‘My Lucky Day’ (209 points)
  11. Albania: Eugent Bushpepa- ‘Mall’ (184 points)
  12. Lithuania: Ieva Zasimauskaitė- ‘When We’re Old’ (181 points)
  13. France: Madame Monsieur- ‘Mercy’ (173 points)
  14. Bulgaria: Equinox- ‘Bones’ (166 points)
  15. Norway: Alexander Rybak- ‘That’s How You Write a Song’ (144 points)
  16. Ireland: Ryan O’Shaughnessy- ‘Together’ (136 points)
  17. Ukraine: Mélovin- ‘Under the Ladder’ (130 points)
  18. Netherlands: Waylon- ‘Outlaw in ‘Em’ (121 points)
  19. Serbia: Sanja Ilić & Balkanika- ‘Nova deca’ (113 points)
  20. Australia: Jessica Mauboy- ‘We Got Love’ (99 points)
  21. Hungary: AWS- ‘Viszlát nyár’ (93 points)
  22. Slovenia: Lea Sirk- ‘Hvala, ne!’ (64 points)
  23. Spain: Amaia & Alfred- ‘Tu canción’ (61 points)
  24. United Kingdom: SuRie- ‘Storm’ (48 points)
  25. Finland: Saara Aalto- ‘Monsters’ (46 points)
  26. Portugal: Cláudia Pascoal- ‘O jardim’ (39 points)

Click here for Semi Final 1 Results and Semi Final 2 Results.

It would seem that Eurovision 2019 will take place in Jerusalem as Tel Aviv have stated they will not put in a bid to host. This could be a contentious decision for a number of reasons including the renewed violence in the Gaza Strip following Donald Trump’s decision to move the US embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem inciting violence among the Palestinians in the region. Not only this but some countries have already called for their broadcasters to withdraw from the contest for that reason, most notably Dublin Lord Mayor saying that Ireland should boycott Eurovision after the result was determined. One final factor that may make Israel’s hosting controversial is the fact that they are without a national broadcaster. During the results of the 2017 show, the announcer said that Israel would withdraw following the disbandment of IBA. The EBU allowed Israel to continue to compete at Eurovision in 2018 under a temporary membership for the TV station Keshet, but no formal membership of the EBU has been drawn up yet for Keshet or any other Israeli broadcaster.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.