Eurovision NI Awards 2017: The Winners!

Eurovision NI Awards 2017

Tonight saw the staging of the second ever annual Eurovision NI Awards in Belfast. Trophies were handed out in nineteen categories with the big winners on the night being Sweden’s Robin Bengtsson who took away three gongs including Best Male and Best Staging and Best Song for ‘I Can’t Go On’. Moldova’s Sunstroke Project received two awards including Best Group, Duo or Collaboration and Best Returning Act. The awards show also honoured Linda Martin who joined Sir Terry Wogan as those who have received the Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contribution to Eurovision. Read on for a full list of the winners. 

Best Male

Nathan Trent

Robin Bengtsson 

Isaiah Firebrace

Imri Ziv


Joci Papai

Best Female


Lucie Jones



Tijana Bogicevic

Jana Burceska

Best Group, Duo or Collaboration


Sunstroke Project 


Ilinca ft Alex Florea


Jacques Houdek

Best Returning Artist

Sunstroke Project

Tijana Bogicevic

Koit Toome

Imri Ziv

Omar Naber

Valentina Monetta

Best Song

Robin Bengtsson- ‘I Can’t Go On’

Lucie Jones- ‘Never Give Up On You’

IMRI- ‘I Feel Alive’

Sunstroke Project- ‘Hey Mamma!’

Svala- ‘Paper’

Hovig- ‘Gravity’

DiHaj- ‘Skeletons’

Jana Burceska- ‘Dance Alone’

Best New Song

Loic Nottet- ‘Mud Blood’

Eric Saade- ‘Another Week’

Barei- ‘I Don’t Need To Be You’

Laura Tesoro- ‘Higher’

Sergey Lazarev- ‘Lucky Stranger’

Krista Siegfrids- ‘Be Real’

Greta Salome- ‘My Blues’

Debrah Scarlett- ‘Cynical Youth’

Joe and Jake- ‘Tongue Tied’

Anouk- ‘Burn’

Iveta Mukuchyan ft Aram MP3- ‘Dashterov’

Zoe- ‘Dangerous Affair’

Best Song Not in the English Language

Francesco Gabbani ‘Occidentali’s Karma’ (Italian)

Alma- ‘Requiem’ (French)

Salvador Sobral- ‘Amar pelos dois’ (Portuguese)

Navi Band- Historyja Majho zyccia’ (Belorussian) 

Jacques Houdek- ‘My Friend’ (Italian)

Joci Papai- ‘Origo’ (Hungarian/Romansh)

Best Song From Selection Shows

Olivia Garcia- ‘Freedom Hearts’ (United Kingdom)

Loreen- ‘Statements’ (Sweden)

Anton Hagman- ‘Kiss You Goodbye’ (Sweden)

Salena Mastroianni- ‘I Don’t Wanna Fight’ (United Kingdom)

Ace Wilder- ‘Wild Child’ (Sweden) 

Günther & D’Sanz- ‘Love Yourself’ (Finland)

Elina Born- ‘In or Out’ (Estonia)

Vidas Bareikis- ‘I Love My Phone’ (Lithuania)

Maxine Pace- ‘Bombshell’ (Malta)

De Vet Du- ‘Road Trip’ (Sweden)

Zühlke- ‘Perfect Villain’ (Finland)

Ella- ‘Mamma Boy’(Norway)

Best Video

Nathan Trent- ‘Running On Air’

Jana Burceska- ‘Dance Alone’ 

DiHaj- ‘Skeletons’

Hovig- ‘Gravity’

Blanche- ‘City Lights’

Artsvik- ‘Fly With Me’

Claudia Faniello- ‘Breathlessly’

Valentina Monetta and Jimmie Wilson- ‘Spirit of the Night’

Best Live Vocal


Kristian Kostov

Isaiah Firebrace

Joci Papai

Anja Nissen

Lucie Jones

Jacques Houdek

Salvador Sobral

Best Staging

Demy- ‘This is Love’

Lucie Jones- ‘Never Give Up On You’

Nathan Trent- ‘Running On Air’

Robin Bengtsson- ‘I Can’t Go On’ 

Hovig- ‘Gravity’

Sunstroke Project- ‘Hey Mamma!’

DiHaj- ‘Skeletons’

Navi Band- ‘Historyia Majho Zychha’

Best Moment

Mans Zelmerlow’s glorious Eurovision return

Streaker during Jamala’s performance

Jana Burceska gets a Proposal

Verka Serduchka’s Segments

The Sobral’s celebratory duet

Italy performs with gorilla

Romania’s Epic Kiss Fail

Katrina (of the Waves) reminded how old she is

Belarus’ Navi Band share a kiss

DiHaj performs with horse on ladder

Jacques Houdek’s duet with himself

ONUKA’s Interval Act

Worst Song

Salvador Sobral- ‘Amar pelos dois’ 

Brendan Murray- ‘Dying to Try’

Levina- ‘Perfect Life’

Lindita- ‘World’

Tamara Gachechiladze- ‘Keep The Faith’

Omar Naber- ‘On My Way’

Most Cringeworthy Act

Salvador Sobral

Jacques Houdek

Brendan Murray

Omar Naber

Valentina Monetta and Jimmie Wilson

Worst Lyrics


Adis Eminić, Iva Boršić and Momčilo Zeković for ‘Space’ (Montenegro): ‘Linen is covered with feathers. Wet dreams, wild nightmares, I surrender. Come into me from within. We can be as one in the sin.’ 

Worst Dressed Male

Slavko Kalezic

Oleksandr Skichko/Timur Miroshnychenko/Volodymyr Ostapchuk

Jacques Houdek

Joci Papai

Kristian Kostov

Worst Dressed Female

Agnese Rakovska (Triana Park) 

Martina Barta




The People’s Choice Award

1. Kristian Kostov (11.80%)

2. Robin Bengtsson (10.49%)

3. Sunstroke Project (8.52%)

4. O’G3NE (6.56%)

5. Nathan Trent (5.25%)

The Phoenix Award For Outstanding Contribution to Eurovision

Linda Martin

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.