Portugal Wins Eurovision 2017!


Well there we have it. It’s all over for another year! Tonight’s Eurovision Grand Final was won by Portugal. This is the first time the nation has won the Contest thanks to Salvador Sobral’s song ‘Amar pelos dois’.

26 nations competed in tonight’s live Final but it was Portugal who came out on top with 758 points, a Eurovision record. In second place was Bulgaria with song ‘Beautiful Mess’ by Kristian Kostov, and Moldova was in third with Sunstroke Project’s ‘Hey Mamma!’. Rounding out the top five were Belgium and Sweden with Blanche and Robin Bengtsson respectively.

Ireland failed to make it into the final for the fourth year in a row when Brendan Murray’s song ‘Dying to Try’ didn’t finish in the top ten in Semi Final 2 on Thursday. Meanwhile Lucie Jones represented the UK with a song penned by former Eurovision winner Emmelie De Forest ‘Never Give Up On You’. It received a total of 111 points and finished in 15th in the Grand Final.

No countries received nul points, something that is almost impossible since the introduction of the new scoring system in 2016.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.