My Prediction: Semi Final 1

Tomorrow night will see the first of this year’s Eurovision semi finals take place. Eighteen countries will battle it out for the ten slots available to them in Saturday’s Final. Here is our predictions as to who we think will make the cut. 

When reviewing the songs earlier in the year I made some predictions and for the most part I stand by these. The only major u turn I have done is on Armenia. While I still don’t like it, I think audiences might enjoy the song’s staging. This is, I think at the expense of Latvia. The full list is below. Tune in tomorrow night from 8pm to find out if our predictions ring true.

Eurovision 2017: Semi Final 1 Predictions

  1. Sweden- Robin Bengtsson ‘I Can’t Go On’
  2. Georgia- Tako Gachechiladze ‘Keep the Faith’
  3. Australia- Isaiah Firebrace ‘Don’t Come Easy’
  4. Albania- Lindita ‘World’
  5. Belgium- Blanche ‘City Lights’
  6. Montenegro- Slavko Kalezic ‘Space’
  7. Finland- Norma John ‘Blackbird’
  8. Azerbaijan- DiHaj ‘Skeletons’
  9. Portugal- Salvador Sobral ‘Amar pelos dois’
  10. Greece- Demy ‘This is Love’
  11. Poland- Kasia Mos ‘Flashlight’
  12. Moldova- Sunstroke Project ‘Hey Mamma!’
  13. Iceland- Svala ‘Paper’
  14. Czech Republic- Martina Barta ‘My Turn’
  15. Cyprus- Hovig ‘Gravity’
  16. Armenia- Artsvik ‘Fly With Me’
  17. Slovenia- Omar Naber ‘On my Way’
  18. Latvia- Triana Park ‘Line’

The ten acts will who qualify from this semi final will join the ten acts that will qualify from the second semi final on Thursday, as well as hosts Ukraine and the Big Five nations (UK, Spain, Germany, France and Italy). Do you agree with my predictions? Share who you think will qualify? Share your thoughts below!

2 Comments

  1. You can see my prediction on my blog. I think Poland will qualify easily as they were so overrated last year. Latvia popular with fans. Think Greece will make it too, but would also enjoy Moldova and Iceland making the cut. Only ten can make it of course…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poland have the Polish diaspora living in other European countries working in their favour but I just can’t warm to it. I love Iceland and Moldova and will be upset if they don’t go through. When you look at Latvia’s lyrics it’s basically just one line repeated ad nauseam.

      Like

Let us know what you think...

