Eurovision 2016 Guide: Lithuania

Eurovision Guide 2016, News


Lithuania Eurovision 2016Lithuania have competed in the Eurovision Song Contest 16 times. Despite LT United’s exclamations that ‘We Are the Winners of Eurovision’ in 2006, the band only managed sixth place. This however is still the country’s best result to date.  Since the introduction of the semi finals in 2004, Lithuania have qualified for the final on seven occasions. Their most recent attempt saw Monika Linkyte team up with Vaidas Baumila to perform ‘This Time’. The duo shared great chemistry and they even shared a sneaky smooch on stage in Vienna. Despite the song being one of my favourites of the Contest, it only came in in 18th place with 30 points. And so on to 2016. What do Lithuania have in store for us?

The national selection in Vilnius starts on the 9th January with 28 artists who will compete over a series of shows on a weekly basis. All live shows will be hosted by Andrius Rožickas and Gerūta Griniūte.

The format for this is a little complicated, so bear with us… In the initial stages of the competition, the artists that entered the contest with a song will compete separately from artists that enter without a song. Artists and songs will be split into two subgroups: Subgroup A, artists that entered without a song and Subgroup B, artists that entered with a song.

Monika Vaidas 2016 Eurovision

                        Monika and Vaidas share an intimate kiss during their 2015 performance

The results of each of the eight shows will be determined by the 50/50 combination of votes from a jury panel and public televoting. The ranking developed by both streams of voting will be converted to points from 1-8, 10 and 12 (twelve points being awarded to first place) and combined. During the shows, the public will cast their votes through SMS voting. In case of a tie, the performer or song that received the most votes from the public will prevail.

However, during the final show where the winning song and artist are being selected, ties will be decided upon by the jury votes. Artists and songs will progress through the competition as follows:

Shows 1 (9th Jan) and 2 (16th Jan): These shows will be devoted to Subgroup A: artists that entered with a song. In each of these shows, eight songs will be performed with five advancing from each show.

Shows 3 (23rd Jan) and 4 (30th Jan): These shows will be devoted to Subgroup B: artists that entered without a song. These artists will perform songs submitted by songwriters and chosen by the broadcaster. In each of these shows, no less than ten songs will be performed. Half of the competing artists and songs in this subgroup will be eliminated.

Show 5 (6th Feb): The qualifying Subgroup A artists and songs from the first and second shows will compete where half of the competing artists and songs in this subgroup will be eliminated.
Show 6 (13th Feb): The qualifying Subgroup B artists and songs from the third and fourth shows will compete where half of the competing artists and songs in this subgroup will be eliminated.
Show 7 (Semi-final- 20th Feb): The qualifying artists and songs from Subgroup A and Subgroup B that were selected during the fifth and sixth shows will compete. Half of the competing artists and songs will be eliminated during this show.
Show 8 (Final- 27th Feb): The remaining artists and songs that qualified from the seventh show will compete. The winner will be selected.

Returning to compete in 2016 is Lithuania’s 2001 representative Erica Jennings who finished 13th with band SKAMP’s song ‘You Got Style’ and Donny Montell who competed in 2012 and who finished 14th with ‘Love is Blind’.

The full list of the competing entries are listed below:

Sub Group A- Artists with a song

Show 1 (9 Jan)

(Winner) Donny Montell- ‘I’ve Been Waiting For This Night’

Erica Jennings- ‘Leading Me Home’

Behind The Moon- ‘Did It All’

Petunija- ‘Tomorrow’

Alice Way- ‘Hero’

Elena Jurgaitytė- ‘I Won’t Come Back’

Dovydas Petrošius- ‘Starlight’

Vlad Max- ‘Don’t Want to Let It Go’

Show 2 (16 Jan)
Ištvan Kvik & Ellada ‘Please Don’t Cry’

Catrinah ‘Be Free’

Eglė Jakštytė ‘Leisk dar būti’

Valdas Lacko ‘Stay Tonight’

Rūta Ščiogolevaitė ‘United’

Jurgis Brūzga ‘GoOne’
Ugne Smile ‘You Don’t Know’
Lawreigna ‘Falling’

Subgroup B- Artists without song

Advanced: E.G.O., Ruslanas Kirilkinas, 4 Roses,  Ieva Zasimauskaitė, Milda Martinkėnaitė, Neringa Šiaudikytė, Saulenė Chlevickaitė, Aistė Pilvelytė.

Eliminated: Baiba Skurstenė-Serdiukė, Berta Timinskaitė, Deividas Žygas, Gabrielė Grigolaitytė-Vasha, HIT.

Do you have a favourite act yet? Then vote for them in our poll!

5 thoughts on “Eurovision 2016 Guide: Lithuania

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.