Ireland Announce Their Five Contenders for Eurovision 2015


kat-mahon-357x500Ireland have announced their contenders for Eurovision 2015. The 5 acts competing to represent Ireland will face off against each other on Friday 27th February and it will see a change in format from the usual Late Late Show mentor system to a new selection show to be fronted by Nicky Byrne from Westlife.

The acts themselves see a mix of old and new including acts who have previously tried to represent Ireland before like Nikki Kavanagh who missed out to Jedward in 2011, and a song penned by 1994 winner Charlie McGettigan and performed by Rose of Tralee contestant Kat Mahon. The new is represented by Belfast based Zambian rapper Alex Saint and Swedish singer Erika Selin who has teamed up Melodifestivalen veteran song writers for her song. Finishing up the line up is Tipperary teenager Molly Sterling.

The five songs then are:

Nikki Kavanagh- Memories

Kat Mahon- Anybody Got A Shoulder

Alex Saint and MJs- She’s So Fine

Erika Selin- Break Me Up

Molly Sterling- Playing With Numbers

You can hear the songs played in full for the first time on Ray Darcy’s RTE Radio One show today Monday 9th February from 3pm GMT (4pm CET). You can listen here.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.